Millions of domain names registered with false information
December 13th, 2005 Leave a comment Visited 73 times, 3 so far today
Millions of domain names registered with false information
US Government Accountability Office (GAO) has reported that millions of domain names currently registered with the authorities are filled with false or junk information. As per the released report, Approximately 2.3 million domain names have been registered with obviously false information and another 1.6 million were registered with incomplete information.
One of the main reasons behind false or incomplete information submitted to the domain registrar is believed to be the fact that the owners of these domain names want to hide their identities or prevent the public from contacting them. The agency was asked by the US congress to collect this information and if we are to believe the numbers, around 8.6 percent of the 44.9 million addresses checked had these issues.
The contact information related to the domain is made available through a service called WhoIs. This makes it easier for law enforcement agencies to contact the owners of websites in case there are indulging in unfair practices. Relevant agencies also make use of this information to identify the source of spam and help Internet operators resolve technical network issues.
The GAO was asked to check the information registered with the .com, .org, and .net domains. In addition, the congress also asked to determine how much of the wrong information was corrected within a month of being reported to the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN). ICANN oversees the Internet’s technical infrastructure.
As per the policies of ICANN, a website owner can be deprived off his domain if he fails to correct any false or incomplete information submitted to the domain registrar.
|
TechWhack on Facebook
|

December 18th, 2005 at 6:09 pm
Hmmm… why dont they begin with investigating all of the domains registered TO, BY, FROM and THROUGH Intercosmos Media Group aka DIRECTNIC.com aka NOLDC.com aka Kenyatech.com aka Spiral Media aka Orion Web aka DomainContenders aka SIGMUND SOLARES aka whatever alias they go by at the moment…
These slimy people in New Orleans have been messing around with domain names, hijacking them, asking for extortion money to return them, being a supportive host to terrorist web-sites and their email/communications, spam campaigns, credit-card phishing scams – and so many more illegal activities.
Look them up. Read whats out there on them. Google those aliases above – read it all. They’re shady people who try to give off the impression that they’re doing everyone a favor but they’re actually sad excuses for an illegitamate company somehow running under the RADAR for many years….. until now.
Wonder who’s supporting the majority of phishing and spam hosting? Wonder who’s supportive of terrorist web-site hosting? Ever wonder who on earth would give a ‘home’ to web sites with terrorist connotations? Ever wonder just who hijacks web sites? Ever wonder who poses as a legitimate service asking for a fee to obtain that hijacked web-site back for you? Ever wonder who supports those slime-bags that spam you, try to guide you to fake web sites asking for your credit card info? Ever wonder who is seriously involved in the majority of corruption on the Internet??
Wonder no more. INTERCOSMOS MEDIA GROUP is. They go by many aliases and dont be fooled – they are NO GOOD.
January 5th, 2006 at 8:53 pm
Yes INTERCOSMOS MEDIA GROUP just hijacked my bussines domain (hdvforum dot net), i dont know how thay did it, but it’s not accecible anymore from my Directi account!!..I dont know what to do!
January 18th, 2006 at 1:14 am
From:
http://www.komo4.com/stories/40223.htm
â??I Donâ??t Know If Itâ??s A Scam Or A Crime, But It Hurtsâ??
November 11, 2005
By KOMO Staff
SEATTLE – She started a Web site to honor her murdered toddler. But now, a local mother says the site has been hijacked, and the hijackers are demanding a steep ransom.
Itâ??s the heartbreaking consequences of something called â??cyber-squattingâ??.
Margot Wetzel just canâ??t believe the Web site honoring her dead daughter is gone.
â??I donâ??t know if itâ??s a scam or a crime, but it hurts,â?? she said.
18-month-old Charlotte Wetzel was murdered by her daycare provider Robin Johnson 7 years ago.
CharlotteWetzel.com chronicled a motherâ??s grief and offered tips on preventing abuse.
But when Margot tried to renew the domain name, she discovered that someone else beat her to it.
Then, she got an e-mail demanding she pay $15,000 to get it back.
â??Well theyâ??re basically holding it for ransom, right?â?? she said. â??Itâ??s like, â??yeah, you can use it but we need some cash.â?? â??
PC World columnist Stuart Johnston says itâ??s called â??cyber-squattingâ??. Usually, cybersquatters buy up the names of successful businesses and then try to sell them back.
But Johnston says heâ??s never seen anything like this.
â??I havenâ??t seen anything thatâ??s quite this heinous of someone taking a domain name thatâ??s so close to someoneâ??s heart,â?? Johnston said.
We found out who bought the domain name â?? theyâ??re called New Orleans Leftover Data Centers. We tried calling them to find out just what theyâ??re up to, but every time we called, we got the answering machine.
We also sent the company several emails and got no response.
â??They just want to make money off people, they donâ??t really care what the Web site is all about,â?? Margot said.
Charlottewetzel.com will be up for renewal again in 2006. Margot says sheâ??ll be ready, hoping to beat these cyber squatters to the punch.
There are federal laws against cyber-squatting, but experts tell us they only apply to cases where the Web site was trademarked.
â??
The man behind New Orleans Leftover Data Centers (NOLDC.com) is Sigmund Solares. He ended up giving charlottewetzel.com back to its lawful owner after the article was published, but he keeps on cybersquatting domains hiding behind a company called Kenyatech.
Any comments please contact him at:
sig@intercosmos.com
sig@domaincontender.com